This is where I talk about my favorite topics: Music, Movies, Romance, Objectivism, Art , Sense of Life and Love!

Nee Partha Parvai

This has always been one of my favorite Kamal Hassan songs (lyrics are by him) and of course the brilliant music of Illayaraja with the soft voice of Asha B and the piano and Hariharan softly blending into each other- it transports me back to the lazy afternoons of my childhood.

This is my attempt at translating one of the most beautiful songs ever!!

Lyrics Translation:

FEMALE:
Nee partha parvaikkoru nandri,
Namai sertha iravukkoru nandri,

Thank you for the look you gave me,
Thank you for the nights we shared,

Ayaraatha ilamai sollum nandri nandri,
Akalaatha ninaivu sollum nandri nandri,

Thank you for the youth which will last forever,
Thankyou for these thoughts which will last forever,

Naan aendra sol ini vaendamm,
Nee aenbathae ini naanthaan,

I dont need the word “me” anymore,
because the word “you” is enough to describe me now,

Inimaelum varam kaetka thaevayillai,
Ithupol vaeraengum sorgamillai,
Uyirae vaa…

Hereon I dont care to ask for any boon,
cause I have found heaven, and it is here and nowehere else,
come to me, my soul……

MALE:
Naadagam mudintha pinnum,
Nadippinnum thodarvathu aenaa,

Even after the drama (play) has got over,
Why do you still continue to act?….

Oranga vaidam ini podhum pennae,
Uyir pogum mattum unn ninaivae kannae,
Uyirae va…

Enough of this acting, and drama , O woman,
I will think of you and remember you until death,
come to me, my soul…..

To end my post, Kamal’s daughter Shruthi, singing the song for her father to celebrate his 50 years on cinema.

Comments on: "Nee Partha Parvai" (4)

  1. I visited many web pages except the audio feature for audio songs existing at this site is in fact wonderful.

  2. Manu Kurup said:

    One of the most beautiful songs ever composed. :)

  3. Wow awesome song. woooow…..

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

